Curriculum Statement

The National Curriculum in England is currently in a process of transition.  At Rickleton Primary School we are currently following the timetable for transition, between the National Curriculum (2000) and the National Curriculum (2014), as set out by the Department of Education. This timetable occurs in stages detailed below:

From September 2014, Year 1, Year 3, Year 4 and Year 5 will adopt and teach programmes of study set out in the National Curriculum (2014) for Mathematics, English, Science and Foundation subjects: (Art & Design, Design Technology, Computing (formerly known as Information Technology), Music, History, Geography and Physical Education.

Year 2 and Year 6 will remain on the current National Curriculum for Mathematics, English and Science but will adopt the new National Curriculum for Foundation subjects.

From September 2015 all year groups will follow the new National Curriculum (2014)

The school uses a cross-curricular approach to teaching and learning.  This means that skills, knowledge and understanding across a range of subjects are brought together and form a topic.  Within the topic, children are able to practise and apply their reading, maths and English skills in other subject areas.

Our ‘Long Term Overviews’ show each year group’s overview of topics and curriculum learning.

Our ‘Context Webs’ show each year group’s  areas of learning for the term.  They are led be enquiry questions posed by the pupils to determine what they already know about the topic, what they would like to know and what they have learned.  The topic maps detail the class novel and learning that will take place within each subject area.

To support the teaching of phonics and early reading, we follow Read Write Inc. scheme.

If you would like more information about the curriculum at Rickleton Primary School then please contact Mrs Price via the school office.

History overview 2017-2018.pdfDownload
English Curriculum Overview .pdfDownload
art and DT overview.pdfDownload
Computing Curriculum Content 2017.pdfDownload
Mathematics Medium Term Planning Early Years Shape Space and Measure - Copy.pdfDownload
Mathematics Medium Term Planning Early Years Shape Space and Measure.pdfDownload
Mathematics Medium Term Planning Early Years.pdfDownload
Overview French Curriculum 2017-2018.pdfDownload
PE Programme 17-18.pdfDownload
RPS GEOGRAPHY Long Term Plan.pdfDownload
Showing 1-10 of 12

Long Term Overviews 2017-2018

Nursery Long Term Plan 2017-2018.pdfDownload
Y2 long term plan 2017-2018.pdfDownload
Y5 long term plan 2017-2018.pdfDownload
Y6 long term plan 2017-2018.pdfDownload
Reception Long Term Plan 2017 - 2018.pdfDownload
Y1 long term plan 2017-2018.pdfDownload
Y3 long term plan 2017-2018.pdfDownload
Y4 long term plan 2017-2018.pdfDownload
Showing 1-8 of 8

Spring Term Context Webs

Nursery Topic Map Spring Term 2018.pdfDownload
Reception Topic Map Spring Term 2018.pdfDownload
Year 1 Topic Map Spring Term 2018.pdfDownload
Year 2 Topic Map Spring Term 2018.pdfDownload
Year 3 Topic Map Spring Term 2018.pdfDownload
Year 4 Topic Map Spring Term 2018.pdfDownload
Year 5 Topic Map Spring Term 2018.pdfDownload
Year 6 Topic Map Spring Term 2018.pdfDownload
Showing 1-8 of 8

Autumn Term Context Webs

EYFS Topic Map - Autumn 1 - 2017-18 - Marvellous Me.pubDownload
Topic Map Autumn clothing Year 2.pubDownload
Topic Map NEW Year 6 aUTUMN 17 1.pubDownload
Topic Map Y3 Autumn 2017.pubDownload
Topic Map Y5 Autumn 2017.pubDownload
Showing 1-5 of 5