Home Page

Rickleton Primary School

Google Translate
Google Search

Get in touch

Contact Details


Curriculum Statement

The National Curriculum in England is currently in a process of transition.  At Rickleton Primary School we are currently following the timetable for transition, between the National Curriculum (2000) and the National Curriculum (2014), as set out by the Department of Education. This timetable occurs in stages detailed below:

From September 2014, Year 1, Year 3, Year 4 and Year 5 will adopt and teach programmes of study set out in the National Curriculum (2014) for Mathematics, English, Science and Foundation subjects: (Art & Design, Design Technology, Computing (formerly known as Information Technology), Music, History, Geography and Physical Education.


Year 2 and Year 6 will remain on the current National Curriculum for Mathematics, English and Science but will adopt the new National Curriculum for Foundation subjects.


From September 2015 all year groups will follow the new National Curriculum (2014)

The school uses a cross-curricular approach to teaching and learning.  This means that skills, knowledge and understanding across a range of subjects are brought together and form a topic.  Within the topic, children are able to practise and apply their reading, maths and English skills in other subject areas.


If you would like more information about the curriculum at Rickleton Primary School then please contact Mrs Price via the school office.